BOOK REVIEW: “Gathering Darkness”

Title: Gathering Darkness (Book 3 of the Falling Kingdoms Series)

Book 3:  "Gathering Darkness"
Book 3:
“Gathering Darkness”
Author: Morgan Rhodes

Genre: Fantasy

RATINGS: (out of 5 Stars)

Goodreads- 4

Amazon- [Avg. Customer Reviews:] 5/5 (21)     ;  4/5 (4)

*Mine- 4.5
Synopsis: (according to Goodreads.com)

The stakes have never been higher in Morgan Rhodes’ third book in the Falling Kingdoms Series as three teams push forward on a race to find the Kindred, the four elemental crystals possessing ancient all-powerful magic…

Prince Magnus has just witnessed torture, death, and miracles during the bloody confrontation that decimated the rebel forces. Now he must choose between family and justice as his father, the cruel King Gaius, sets out to conquer all of Mytica. All Gaius needs now are the Kindred—the four elemental crystals that give godlike powers to their owner. But the King of Blood is not the only one hunting for this ancient, storied magic…

THE KRAESHIANS join the hunt. Ashur and Amara, the royal siblings from the wealthy kingdom across the Silver Sea, charm and manipulate their way to the Kindred, proving to be more ruthless than perhaps even the King of Blood himself.

THE REBELS forge ahead. Princess Cleo and vengeful Jonas lead them, slaying with sweetness, skill, and a secret that can control Lucia’s overpowering magic – all so they can use the Kindred to win back their fallen kingdoms.

THE WATCHERS follow Melenia out of the Sanctuary. They ally in the flesh with King Gaius, who vows to use Lucia’s powers to unveil the Kindred.

The only certainty in the dark times is that whoever finds the magic first will control the fate of Mytica… but fate can be fickle when magic is involved.

ABOUT AUTHOR: read this interview Rhodes did with Justine Magazine online!! ALSO– check out her website^ ^just click on the link on her last name above to bring you to it(:

– – – – – – – – – – – –  (Book Finished around January 2015)


WOW…

^^^That’s one way to describe this book after reading it, with excited squeals following shortly afterwards xD teehee

This book was really good–and my views of some of the characters have changed GREATLY! xDD I’ve just abandoned my previous ship and swam to another and I’m having a BLAST!! XD (<<ya’ll are gonna have to read the book to understand what 2 people I’m shipping now–eeeep!!) ^_^

Okay, I’m gonna have to stop this fangirling so that I can go on and give you my review of this book… xD

 

MY THOUGHTS…

BEFORE the Book: I was anxious to read more about Joleo because I just LOVED them! XD just think about it: The rebel and the Princess… I mean, come on! It just reminds me too much of my two fav characters/ship on The 100 – Bellamy Blake & Clarke Griffin (#Bellarke FTW!!!) >>>9b0933c507c42492cad753f5f344ef5a.jpg    >>>>

Story Parallel:  The 100 vs Falling Kingdom ((Am I right??)) ;D
Story Parallel:
The 100 vs Falling Kingdom
((Am I right??)) ;D

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Even though we do get a few JOLEO moments in GD, it’s not much to satisfy the #Joleo shippers, unfortunately. Jonas is sorta too busy with the rebellion to have secret rendezvous with the Auranian/recently-turned-Limerian Princess… But he does have deep feelings for her, and you can obviously tell when you read this book!

• AFTER Reading:  However, there’s also the bold, no-nonesense Lysandra whom Jonas hangs out with more in GD. After reading this, I now see clearly that he and Lys are PERFECT for each other, really. THINK ABOUT IT– What would the kingdom gain if Cleo ended up marrying him once the Evil Gaius is vanquished??? I think uniting ALL kingdoms is the end game to bring about peace here… Don’t you agree??


+ Things I Loved: 

  Magnus & Cleo’s banter!!! We see more of it in this book, especially in one specific, special scene where they have this deep conversation–and I’m like GAAAAAHHHH!!!!

*Looks at all of you pointedly* ALL of you need to read GD and you’ll know what I mean and exactly why I’m all gushy over the aforementioned scene above^^^ ;D ❤

  I also loved the last scene in GD when the Kraeshian siblings both show their true colors…….   I have 4 words for you: 

Magnus. 

Damora. 

Kicks.

Butt!    XD


+ Things I Hated: 

  ~ Evil King Gaius and his devious ways…that dude disgusts me >>insert Death Glare Here<<    

  the Kraeshian Wonder-Twins. UGH, everyone ALWAYS has a hidden agenda, don’t they?? Evil!

————–
MORE Thoughts…

Okay, I think Magnus is definitely growing on me. It started in the last book, Rebel Spring, and reading this book only cemented my feelings for Magnus Damora even more. He actually cares more than he lets on!! He has a good heart, but we don’t ever see it in the series–definitely not in FK–the first book.   I WANNA SEE MORE!!!!!!!!!  

     We clearly see it a bit in RS & GD; when he steps up for Cleo when Aron badmouths her-(in RS) — as well as his and Cleo’s intense convo in GD… GAH, my heart FEELS for him! He’s cold-hearted and closed off because of his evil scumbag of a father, and it makes me want that guy dead even more!!!

  PLEASE, someone just assassinate him already!!!!!! *looks pointedly at Jonas*
~Revelation Time~

BUT WAIT– I also get the strange feeling that maybe it could be MAGNUS who ends his father in the end…?  IDK, it just…seems..right! I’ve read enough books to see it happening.  What do you YOU guys think???
~ I love Cleo and how strong she is throughout RS & GD. I know I couldn’t EVER hope to be as courageous and brave as she is in GD… all the things she has to do in order to stay sane and keep to her Big Plan makes me desperately wish I could be just like her! She’s lost everything & every one she’s loved, and I feel for her D’X She has to be my favorite character out of all of them…

 right now, there’s a toss up for 2nd place between Jonas & Magnus xP

Alright, lastly, before I show you my all-time fav quote of GD, I just want to say one thing….

  Is it too much to wish that there might be just ONE good character in the FK series that DOESN’T want control of the Kindred?? I understand the power that comes with acquiring it, but still… couldn’t there just be one decent, honest-to-goodness person who just wants peace, as well as Evil Gaius gone, and have things return to normal???? IDK, maybe it’s just me, but there’s a lot of obsessing over this “Kindred” nonsense xP

  I totally understand Cleo’s motive (to take back her kingdom -using the Kindred for Good), as well as Magnus’ reasoning – I believe he just doesn’t want his father to have it, and that I totally agree with!

 NO Kindred for you, GAY-us!! You’re on the very-very, super-duper Naughty List this year–again!  Somebody give this guy an award: a lifetime supply of COAL!!!!!

  😉

……..Anyway…….
You know…maybe there should be a character that wants to destroy the Kindred so that NO ONE can be tempted to use it for Bad?? That just might make everyone happy forever!

Don’t you agree???? ;P


FAV Quote of GD: ❤ ❤ ❤

“There is no goodness inside of me, princess, so please don’t waste time fantasizing that there might be.”  ~Magnus (to Cleo)

 ^I’m just going to leave ya’ll with that. God, I love those two!! ^_^
Whelp, that’s all I’ve got for today, folks…. TTYL!!

~Dori

Leave a Reply

