Class Assignment: My Descriptive Paragraph for English

This is a paper I had to recently turn in for my college English class I’m currently taking in junior college. It’s a descriptive paragraph on a place of our choosing and we–obviously– have to describe it, adding sensory details like sight, sense, smell and taste.

This past summer, for my grad present from my grandparents, they took me and my older sister to Italy! 😀 And one of the last places we went to there was Lake Como of glacial origin, much like Lake Tahoe is here in America. (Pictures below)

10378135_731301520260813_3574824897825485606_n10482227_731294163594882_5422143052055528880_n10468084_731298843594414_8742902206348236805_n10557462_731297936927838_8715422197481249080_n

So, I hope you enjoy!

Experiencing Serenity

Lake Como has a sort of beauty to it so that the serenity of the place has a calming effect on me. I am on summer vacation here in Italy, and as I stand to the side of the narrow roads, near the market town of Bellagio, before me is the breathtaking view of the serene Lake Como. Just below me is the dark green water of the lake, where the sweet smell of algae wafts up to my nose. Unlike the bodies of water back in the United States, these Italian waters are fresh and clean, which brings out the deep sea green of the water to where I am able to clearly see a pod of agoni herring fish swimming lazily just beneath the eddying surface. Boats of different kinds move from one side of the lake to the other, bringing tourists or native Italians across the waters as birds caw and fly low to catch any juicy herring they can get their claws on. I can easily see across the rippling water to the other side, where the simple town of Menaggio resides, with its equally narrow roads and clustered houses.

This wondrous place has its own fair share of towns as much as it does nature; tropical and subtropical plants of different variations covers the Italian landscape around the lake. Just above and all around the lake sits the mighty and tall earthly structures that make up the mountains; it is the lake’s most predominate feature. It is covered from top to bottom with luxurious vegetation, and from where I’m standing it looks like the mountains are completely overtaken with moss. These great Earth beings peak up towards the gorgeous light blue hue of the sky, which is dotted with fluffy, wispy masses called clouds. These white wisps remind me of pure white cotton candy as they float there above the lake.

I want to capture this amazing view before me, so I lift my metal Cannon camera to my face and snap a photo of pristine Lake Como. It is just as breathtaking as the real thing, but nothing compares to the real, in-person view that I see in front of me. Later, when I am back in America and every time I glance at the photograph I took, I am instantly reminded of the calm serenity I first felt, and it overwhelms me.

Leave a Reply

