A Short Story (a paper I did for my English 400 class)

This is my short story I wrote for my Senior English class. It’s a Super Rough Draft, but I hope you like it (:

This is purely for fun! I know I can make it a lot better….

Hope you enjoy! 😀

~Rebel

~ ~ ~ ~

The Dark

Ever since I could remember, I’ve been deathly afraid of the dark. I’ve heard so many bad things about darkness that I fear it more now than I ever did when I was little. It used to be such a small fear; I was afraid to open my closet at night, or look under my bed, for fear that something evil would hop out and eat me alive. It didn’t help listening to the boys at my school tell all sorts of scary stories, like ghosts and monsters. If I thought about it too much, I realized that all sorts of evil can thrive from darkness, kind of like bacteria. I was teased relentlessly about it, called a baby. They taunted me. “Somebody call the waaa-bulance!”

My older brother was one of the few who never teased me about it. Instead, he’d tried to encourage me that I was braver than that. “Don’t listen to them, Sara.” Trevor told me. “You’re not a baby. You just need to find the courage to overcome your fear. Then you could show everyone else who the baby really is.” Afterwards, he gave me his thousand-dollar-watt smile, and I find that I am grateful to have him as a big brother. He was such a dork.

“Just remember,” he adds, his huge grin disappeared and is quickly replaced by a little smirk. “‘There’s no such thing as darkness; only the failure to see.’

I remember giving him an incredulous look after he recited those strange words. Nothing he had said had helped at all. “What was that? Brother, I think you’ve gone crazy. What was that, something from one of your books?” I had just laughed at him, thinking it was some sort of sad little joke.

Trevor had shrugged, unsure. “Some ‘Mugger’ dude. It sounded cool, so I remembered it. Alright, how about this one; “Even a small star shines in the darkness.” That’s some Danish proverb. I think I said it wrong, but oh well.”

Knowing he had been trying to cheer me up, I laughed and mock-punched him in the arm. “Thanks for trying, bro. It’s the thought that counts.”

But I don’t think I’m brave enough to overcome my fear. It just seems too great of a feat to accomplish. It would be nice if everyone didn’t pick on me about it. But what is there to do when you’re too scared to even face it?

“Truth or dare, Kate?” Jane asked, rubbing her hands together in a greedy manner. She looked as if she were ready to murder somebody.

Originally, I had thought it had been a good idea to play Truth or Dare at my slumber party, but I was starting to regret it as my friends started daring all of us to do outrageous and embarrassing dares. My other friend, Aimee, had been dared to lick the bathroom floor her first time, and she had promptly rinsed out her mouth afterwards, completely disgusted. I was afraid for my life – almost.

“Truth!” Kate wasn’t going to be choosing ‘Dare’ any time soon.

Jane rolled her eyes, but continued. “From one to ten on the Adorableness Scale, how would you rate Tyler Harrisburg?”

Kate immediately gushed, going all gooey-eyed. “Nineteen point nine!” she exclaimed. “He totally breaks the scale in my opinion. He’s beyond gorgeous.”

We all giggled uncontrollably. Need I remind you, we are thirteen years old, going gaga about boys. Typical.

Jane grinned. “Okay, my turn.” She said, ready to be dared.

“Truth or Dare?” Aimee asked her, ready to exact her revenge.

Jane looked right into her face, unblinking. “Dare,” she announced.

“I dare you to lick Macy’s litter box.” Aimee dared, looking rather triumphant.

A chorus of ooo’s could be heard echoing around the room.

Jane looked almost horrified at the thought, but she quickly composed her expression to appear impassive. “Okay,” was her reply. I could tell she was trying to stay brave.

All eyes were on her as she got up and slowly walked to the cat’s litter box. Once she finished her dare, everyone laughed as she, like Aimee had done, made a beeline for the bathroom to rinse her contaminated mouth out.

Aimee pumped her fist in the air triumphantly. “Sweet, sweet revenge.”

When it was my turn, I had foolishly chosen dare. What was I thinking?

“Sara, I dare you to stay inside your dark closet for five minutes.” Jane said. I stared at her, horrified. She gave me a devilish smile in return.

“Now Jane, that’s just mean…” Kate tried to save me but Jane wouldn’t have it.

“She has to. That’s how you play.”

I groaned, but agreed. At least it was only five minutes and nothing more drastic.

Once they had locked me in my closet, and the darkness enveloped me, I began to hyperventilate. Did I mention I hated the dark? Well, I did. And I was completely scared out of my wits.

It was so pitch black inside that I couldn’t even see my hand in front of my face at all. The darkness seemed to envelope me, caving in like walls to suffocate me. I wheezed out as I tried to breathe but I found it hard to. It was like my wind pipe was caving in on me as well. The intensity became so great that I was on the verge of crying right there like a baby.

I had half a mind to bang on the door and tell them to let me out, that I give up – but then I remembered the taunting I got at school. What if I wined to get out and had to face everyone at school? I couldn’t go through that humiliation. Then, I thought of my brother and what he said to me. What was it – something about stars?

Oh, right. That Danish proverb and a Mugger.. “Even a small star shines in the darkness…. There is no such thing as darkness; only the failure to see.”

Squishing down the rising hysteria and fear, I push on and ignore it. Instead, I tried thinking of something else more encouraging; ‘I am a star. I am a light, washing away the remaining darkness and no monster will be eating me alive tonight…’

A loud knock sounded on the closet door, breaking the absolute silence and brought me back to the present. “Okay, Sara. Your five minutes is up!”

The door was unlocked and opened, and I had to blink a couple thousand times in order for my eyes to adjust.

“You didn’t scream.” Jane sounded surprised – and maybe a little disappointed.

“Does that mean you’re not scared of the dark anymore?” Aimee sounded hopeful.

I got to my feet and grinned happily at all of them. “You bet!” I told them. I felt rejuvenated and better now that I wasn’t so afraid of the dark anymore.

And to think I had finally overcome my fear with the help of some Danish proverb and somebody with the last name of ‘Mugger.’

Leave a Reply

